Harry Potter #8 Review

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: Jack Thorne, John Tiffany, & J. K. Rowling

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-childGenre: Fantasy

Rating: three-stars

 

Description: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Review:

It’s 12 am and I’m writing this review. I’m sorry if this isn’t the best writing but I had to get this out lol.

If you have not read this book yet, do not read any further!

Spoilers-ahead.gif

Now, this book definitely was not what one would expect when they pick up a new Harry Potter book. It seemed more like a work of fan fiction. First off, I wish an eighth book was actually written instead of just releasing the screenplay. You just don’t get the same feel as you would have if it were written as a novel. The plot was a mess and I don’t know what they were thinking when they came up with it. The use of time travel in this book is questionable. There are way too many plot holes here.

Did anyone else feel like the characters were saying things they would’t normally say? I sure did. Especially when it came to Snape. The things he would say did not feel like he was supposed to be the one saying them.

ALBUS AND SCORPIUS ARE NOT JUST FRIENDS! I don’t care! They’re not! I know I’m not the only one thinking it.

BELLATRIX LESTRANGE AND VOLDEMORT???!!!!! So apparently Delphi is the daughter of Bellatrix Lestrange and Voldemort. Voldemort had a child. Bellatrix Lestrange birthed that child. Is this not making you want to vomit?

giphy-1

Don’t take this as me bashing the book because I’m not. There were parts of the book where I was just like OMG. The book read very well. Not once, did I question whether or not I wanted to finish the book.

Let me know how you felt about the book. Did you love it or hate it?

P.S. Again, it is 12 am and I apologize for the choppy review.

giphy-2.gif

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter #8 Review

  1. renxkyoko says:

    I was quite disappointed. I thought maybe I was the only one. JKRowling should have published it as a short novel rather than a screenplay. And seriously, he should not have used time travel as the main plotline. There’s bound to be loopholes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

