It Ends With Us Book Review

It-ends-with-usTitle: It Ends With Us

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: New Adult

Rating: five-stars (If I could give it 10 stars I would)

DescriptionLily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

My Review:

Let me just start by saying this is my new favorite CoHo book! She seriously  outdid herself with this. This book book gave me all the feels. I laughed, I cried, I loved, and I got really angry. It Ends With Us definitely lived up to the hype that comes with the author’s name.

spoiler-warning

Lily was such an amazing character. I loved the fact that the whole story was told through her point of view. It definitely gave me the chance to get to know her and love her more. Throughout the novel, I felt as though I was building my own friendship with Lily. I was happy for her during her successes, sad during the difficult times and angry during those times with Ryle…

…Ryle…that jerk! I honestly did not like him from the start. He just seemed a little too cocky and I hated how he kept playing with Lily’s feelings.

As Ryle and Lily began building their relationship, I would honestly say that they were cute together. He seemed like he would be great for Lily and she was very happy happy to be with him. This is all until he began putting his hands on her. Guys, let me tell you. I wanted to jump into this book so bad! What kind of a man put his hands on a woman?!!

We learn that Ryle’s anger issues stem from the fact that he accidentally killed his older brother as a child. It really broke my heart to learn it was him. It has to be emotionally difficult for anyone to go through that, let alone a child. Unfortunately, this does not mean Lily should excuse the fact that he is putting his hands on her.

“I think we needed what happened on the stairwell to happen so that I would know his past and we’d be able to work on it together” (270).

Lily is conflicted. She loves her husband, but she doesn’t want his behavior to continue. At this point Lily seems to be following behind her mother and her douchebag father. Thankfully she doesn’t continue the cycle.

Now lets talk about Atlas. I loved Atlas from when he was introduced. We learn about Atlas through Lily’s letters to Ellen Degenerous. Atlas was a homeless kid, who Lily saved as a teen. When she found out Atlas was homeless and living in an abandoned home, Lily brought him food and allowed him to use her shower. She showed empathy for him in his situation. She did not pity him but instead, she befriended him.

I loved how Lily and Atlas’ relationship developed and I was super happy that he showed back up in her adult life. Atlas was definitely Lily’s “dream guy”. When he gave her the book signed by Ellen, I melted! I was definitely #TeamAtlas this whole book!

Overall, this book was amazing. Colleen Hoover allowed us to get a view of domestic violence through the point of view of the victim. CoHo informs us at the end that Lily and Ryle were actually based on her parents. Reading this, if I wasn’t crying before, I was definitely tearing up at this point. Thank you Colleen Hoover for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

