Waking Olivia Book Review

29103642.jpgTitle: Waking Olivia

Author: Elizabeth O’Roark

Genre: New Adult, Romance

Rating: five-stars

Release Date: March 13, 2016

Description: “That girl isn’t just trouble of the not-a-team-player, not-a-reliable-runner variety. She’s trouble of the devious, manipulative, too-f***ing-hot-for-her-own good variety. She’s the kind of girl who causes trouble merely by existing, and then makes sure to cause more.
And the last thing I need right now is more trouble.”

A failing farm.
His father’s debt.
And a struggling college track team.
Will Langstrom has too many responsibilities, and the last thing he needs is Olivia Finnegan, a beautiful but troubled new transfer student.

A smart mouth.
A strong right hook.
And a secret that could destroy her.
Olivia is her own worst enemy, with a past she can’t seem to escape, and the last person she wants help from is a cocky track coach she can never seem to please.
Refusing to be pushed away, Will is determined to save her.
And determined to resist an attraction that could destroy them both.

***I received a copy this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review***

Spoiler Free Review.png

Olivia is a transfer student joining the track team. She was transferred after physically assaulting a teammate at her last school. Olivia can be described as a tough and very private girl. She had no intentions of making any friends. She just wanted to run track and be left alone, but that clearly wasn’t in the cards.

Will was 100% against Olivia being on the team because of her terrible reputation from her last school. He argues and picks at everything that Olivia does on the track, but there’s just something about her. He soon finds out that Olivia is keeping this huge secret and he wants to be the one to save her.

From the moment i started reading this book, I could not stop. The characters were all great, except for Jessica (eye roll).  I especially loved Dorothy, and how she grows so attached to Olivia. I absolutely and completely love the way Will and Olivia hate each other but then gradually begin to fall for one another. They tried to hard to fight it, but their love won in the end<——that sounds so cliche and gross.

Spoiler Free Review (1).png

“It wasn’t a good kiss. It was an amazing, life-altering kiss.”  (Olivia)

“He grabs my arm and swings me back into him, looking astonished and saddened and hopeful all at the same time. ‘You are crying.’ His arms go around me tucking me into him, my head just under his chin. ‘Livvy, I’m so sorry.”   (Will)

“…she is non-negotiable. She is the thing I won’t give up.”  (Will)

” ‘I’ve been far from honorable for a long time,’ I tell her. ‘I’m here because I love you. Because I’m so in love with you, I’m not even capable of giving you up.’ ”   (Will)

” ‘I feel complete’, she sighs. ‘And it’s all because of you. You saved me, you know that?”    (Olivia)

Leave a Reply

